Research projects

VR technology is used, when real experiments are compared to simulations to expensive, to dangerous or simply impossible. Examples would be the training or the planning of medical procedures, catastrophe training, modeling of molecules or the visualisation of combustion in closed systems.

Student projects

Since a while the lecture Virtual Reality in the CAVE is held by GUP. The goal of this course is teaching VR technology. Topics like scene graph programming by using OpenSG and OpenGL Performer, using the EON Studio or 3D modeling are taught. At the end of the lecture the students are able to develop applications for the CAVE, the Curved Screen, the I-Catcher or the ReachIn Display. On these pages you find information about the assignments of the past courses.

Industry projects

  • Industry projects
  • SAVE

The Johannes Kepler University Linz is always interested to cooperate with the industry. The main focus is on the interface between students and research projects from the industry. To support this the VR-Center is one of the best equipped facilities in Europe. If your company is interested in research cooperation in the area of Computer Graphics, Visualisations or Human Computer Interaction or you want to realise your projects using VR technology you should contact us via vrcadmin@jku.at.

Forschungsprojekte

VR wird immer dann eingesetzt, wenn reale Experimente im Vergleich zu Simulationen zu teuer, zu gefährlich oder unmöglich sind. Beispiele dafür sind das Training und die Planung von medizinischen Operationen oder Katastrophenübungen, die Modellierung von Molekülen oder die Visualisierung von Verbrennungsvorgängen in geschlossenen Systemen.

Studentenprojekte

Seit einiger Zeit bietet das GUP die Vorlesung Virtual Reality im CAVE an. Ziel der Lehrveranstaltung ist es dem interessierten Hörer die Technologie der Virtual Reality näher zu bringen. Dabei werden Themen wie OpenSG- und Performer-Programmierung, der Umgang mit EON Studio oder 3D Modellierung behandelt. Am Ende der Vorlesung soll es den Studenten möglich sein, eigenständig VR-Applikationen für den CAVE, Curved Screen, ICatcher oder das ReachIn Display zu entwickeln. Hier finden sich Informationen zu den bisher entstandenen Abschlußprojekten.

Industrieprojekte

  • Industrieprojekte
  • SAVE

Die Johannes Kepler Universität Linz ist immer um die Kooperation mit Firmen bemüht. Ein Hauptaugenmerk liegt hierbei an der Schnittstelle zwischen Studenten und Forschungsprojekten aus der Wirtschaft. Dabei bietet das VR-Center eine der besten Hardware Ausstattungen Europas. Wenn Ihre Firma an Forschungsprojekten in den Bereichen Computergraphik, Visualisierung oder Human Interface Technology interessiert ist oder Projektideen einbringen möchte, dann kontaktieren Sie uns über vrcadmin@jku.at