Research projects

Net'O'Drom

Net'O'Drom

The netOdrom application was initially developed for a public event - Lange Nacht der Forschung (Long Night of Science) - on Oktober 1st 2005. It was designed to demonstrate a variety of algorithms in the field of Networked Virtual Environments. The application is a networked simulation of fictional motor-race. What looks like a game demonstrates a physics engine, swarming algorithms, particle systems and a variety of modelling techniques. It was developed in cooperation between:

  • Institut für Graphische und Parallele Datenverarbeitung (GUP)
  • Zentralen Informatikdienst der JKU (ZID)
  • Institut für Medien, Bereich Medientechnik und Vermittlung (DMA) der Kunstuniversität Linz
  • The Visioneers

Programming

To display virtual environments in a fast way efficient data structures are needed. 3D models have to be converted and stored hierarchically to calculate the virtual world efficiently. The flexibility needed for the creation of a virtual environment has to be kept by this structures. The application is based on the open source scene graph library OpenSG which is used to store an display the graphical data (e.g. geometries, textures ...) in a highly efficient manor.

Kollision

The simulation of physics has several application areas. In the case of the netOdrom application it is used to allow for realistic simulation of vehicle motion and steering. Collisions between the track and other vehicles, acceleration and deceleration at uprisings in the track have to be simulated. This type of simulation is used as well in the area of driving and flight simulations.

The interconnection of virtual worlds over the internet is a challenging task, since the virtual worlds should be accessed by several players. For that a consistent view on the environment is necessary. This is difficult since latencies between different components like input, message distribution, message retrieval, evaluation and the display exist.

Effects

To let worlds appear realistic light and shadow have to be taken into account. These effects are pre-calculated and are drawn in the textures of the geometries. Reflections and shadows are commonly used in computer games and virtual worlds.

Partikel

Particle systems simulate fuzzy surfaces and were originally developed as a special effect for the movie "Star Trek II - The Wrath of Khan" in year 1983 by Reeves. Today they are widely used in the movie industry. In virtual environments particle systems are used for the display of water, smoke and explosions (e.g. safety training, simulations).

Flocking algorithms were developed 1987 by Reynolds and are used to simulate flocks of birds or schools of fish. They play an important part in the movie industry. In a swarming algorithm each participant of the swarm decides individually about its behaviour, no central steering force exists. In the area of virtual reality such algorithms are used to let the virtual world to appear more realistic.

Modeling

Konzeptzeihnung der Umgebung

To achieve realism in virtual worlds not only special effects and physics are needed a creative and artful modelling is highly important. Avatars and environments have to be consistent in design, to achieve a high degree of immersion. Therefore modelling tools (e.g. 3D Studio Max or Maya) are used which are very common in the field computer games and movie industry.

Avatar

The term avatar comes from Hindu mythology and means gods incarnation on earth. In the context of virtual environments an avatar is a geometry which represents the user inside the virtual world. An avatar contains of geometry, textures and a skeleton. The vertices of the geometry are connected with the bones of the skeleton. If the bones are moved the whole avatar is animated. This mechanism, is called mesh skinning and is used often in movies and games industry.

Strecke

To implement the application different areas of the track were designed and modelled. The parts tracks can be placed as tiles in the track and allow a high flexibility in track design.

Skybox

To display landscapes in the far background of the virtual world a technique called skybox is used. In the netOdrom application the skybox is used to create different ambient atmospheres with a variety of daylight situations. To display a skybox six different images are generated from a central position of the virtual world. These images are mapped on a cube and move with the user through the virtual environment. The user has the impression that he is moving inside the landscape.

People

Project leading

Programming

  • Christoph Anthes - Konzept, Datenstrukturen
  • Helmut Bressler - Engine, Physik, Netzwerkprogrammierung, Reflexionen und Schatten
  • Helmut Garstenauer - Avatare
  • Martin Garstenauer - Avatare
  • Franz Keferböck - Schwarmalgorithmen
  • Roland Landershamer - Engine, Physik, Netzwerkprogrammierung und -konzept
  • Stephan Reiter - Partikel
  • Christian Wressnegger - Partikel
  • Johannes Zarl - Schwarmalgorithmen

Modeling

  • Wolfgang Hauer - Umgebungen
  • Marlene Hochrieser - Avatare 3DStudio Plugin
  • Clemens Mock - Umgebungen
  • Paul Pammesberger - Umgebungen
  • Ivan Petrov - Avatare
  • Georg-Friedrich Sochurek - Avatare
  • Silke Wiesinger - Strassenabschnitte, Umgebungen
  • Alexander Wilhelm - Avatare, Strassenabschnitte, Umgebungen
  • Wolfgang Wögerer - Umgebungen

Images

Movies

Press

Publications

Helmut Bressler, Roland Landertshamer, Christoph Anthes, Jens Volkert
An efficient Physics Engine for Virtual Worlds
In Proc. of medi@terra, pages 152-158, Athens, Greece, October 2006

Christoph Anthes, Alexander Wilhelm, Roland Landertshamer, Helmut Bressler, Jens Volkert
Net'O'Drom - An Example for the Development of Networked Immersive VR Applications
In Proc. of International Conference on Computational Science (ICCS), pages 752-759, Beijing, China, May 2007

Student projects

Since a while the lecture Virtual Reality in the CAVE is held by GUP. The goal of this course is teaching VR technology. Topics like scene graph programming by using OpenSG and OpenGL Performer, using the EON Studio or 3D modeling are taught. At the end of the lecture the students are able to develop applications for the CAVE, the Curved Screen, the I-Catcher or the ReachIn Display. On these pages you find information about the assignments of the past courses.

Industry projects

  • Industry projects
  • SAVE

The Johannes Kepler University Linz is always interested to cooperate with the industry. The main focus is on the interface between students and research projects from the industry. To support this the VR-Center is one of the best equipped facilities in Europe. If your company is interested in research cooperation in the area of Computer Graphics, Visualisations or Human Computer Interaction or you want to realise your projects using VR technology you should contact us via vrcadmin@jku.at.

Forschungsprojekte

This page is also available in english

Net'O'Drom

Net'O'Drom

Diese Applikation zeigt eindrucksvoll einige Möglichkeiten der VR Technologie. Es handelt sich um eine verteilte Simulation eines fiktiven Autodromrennens. Was als Spiel erscheint, ist in Wirklichkeit eine aufwändige Demonstration verschiedenster Algorithmen und Modellierungstechniken. Die Applikation entstand als Gemeinschaftsprojekt von:

  • Institut für Graphische und Parallele Datenverarbeitung (GUP)
  • Zentralen Informatikdienst der JKU (ZID)
  • Institut für Medien, Bereich Medientechnik und Vermittlung (DMA) der Kunstuniversität Linz
  • The Visioneers

Programmierung

Um virtuelle Welten schnell darstellen zu können werden aufwändige Datenstrukturen benötigt. 3D Modelle müssen konvertiert und in Hierarchien abgelegt werden, um die virtuelle Welt effizient berechnen zu können. Die Flexibilität beim Erstellen der virtuellen Umgebung muss jedoch durch diese Strukturen gewahrt werden. Die vorhandene Anwendung basiert auf der Szenengraphenbibliothek OpenSG, die zur Strukturierung der Grafikdaten (z.B. Geometrien, Texturen) dient.

Kollision

Die Simulation von Physik besitzt viele Anwendungsgebiete. Im Falle dieser Applikation wird sie verwendet, um die realitätsnahe Steuerung des Fahrzeugs zu ermöglichen. Kollisionen mit der Strecke und anderen Vehikeln müssen berechnet, Beschleunigung und Abbremsen beim Streckenanstieg und bei Kollisionen realistisch simuliert werden. Derartige Berechnungen werden auch in anderen Gebieten, wie z.B. bei Flug- und Fahrsimulatoren angewendet.

Die Verbindung von virtuellen Welten über Netzwerke stellt eine sehr große Herausforderung dar, denn die Welten sollen von möglichst vielen Benutzern gleichzeitig betreten werden können. Viel wichtiger ist jedoch die Darstellung eines identischen Zustands dieser Welt. Dies wird jedoch durch die Verzögerung zwischen der Eingabe, dem Versand, dem Empfang und der Auswertung der Daten, sowie deren Umsetzung erschwert.

Effekte

Um die Welten realistisch wirken zu lassen, müssen Licht und Schatten berücksichtigt werden. Diese Effekte werden berechnet und anschließend in die Texturen der dargestellten Geometrien gezeichnet. Reflektionen und Schatten werden häufig in Computerspielen und virtuellen Welten eingesetzt

Partikel

Partikelsysteme simulieren unscharfe Oberflächen und wurden ursprünglich als Spezialeffekte für den Kinofilm "Star Trek II - Der Zorn des Khan" im Jahre 1983 von Reeves entwickelt und sind heute im Bereich der Filmindustrie weit verbreitet. In virtuellen Welten werden Partikelsysteme zur Darstellung von Wasser, Rauch und Explosionen eingesetzt (z.B. Sicherheitstraining, Simulationen).

Schwarmalgorithmen simulieren Vogel- oder Fischschwärme und wurden 1987 von Reynolds entwickelt. Sie spielen wie die Partikelsysteme in der Filmindustrie eine große Rolle. Schwarmalgorithmen gehen davon aus, dass jeder animierte Körper ein eigenes Verhalten aufweist. Es gibt also keine zentrale Steuereinheit in einem Schwarm. Im VR-Bereich werden derartige Algorithmen eingesetzt, um eine virtuelle Welt realistischer und lebensechter zu gestalten.

Modellierung

Konzeptzeihnung der Umgebung

Um virtuelle Welten realistisch wirken zu lassen, benötigt man nicht nur Spezialeffekte und Physik, sondern auch im starken Maße eine kreative und technisch aufwändige Modellierung dieser Welten. Avatare und Umgebungen müssen stimmig und ansprechend entwickelt werden, um einen hohen Grad an Immersion zu garantieren. Hierzu werden Modellierungswerkzeuge (z.B. 3D Studio Max, Maya), die auch im Bereich der Computerspiele- und der Filmindustrie weit verbreitet sind, eingesetzt.

Avatar

Der Begriff Avatar stammt aus der Hindumythologie und bedeutet soviel wie "Gottes Inkarnation auf Erden". Im Bereich VR ist ein Avatar die Repräsentation des Anwenders innerhalb einer virtuellen Welt. Er besitzt Geometrie, Textur und ein Skelett. Die einzelnen Knotenpunkte der Geometrie werden mit den Knochen des Skeletts verknüpft. Bewegt man nun die Knochen, wird dadurch der gesamte Avatar animiert. Dieses Verfahren wird als "Mesh-Skinning" bezeichnet und häufig in der Film- und Spieleindustrie eingesetzt.

Strecke

Zur Realisierung der Applikation wurden verschiedene Straßenabschnitte entwickelt und modelliert. Die Straßenkarten können als Kacheln in der virtuellen Welt angebracht werden und erlauben durch verschiedenste Kombinationen eine flexible Streckengestaltung.

Skybox

Um Elemente im entfernen Hintergrund der virtuellen Welt darzustellen zu können, wird die Technik der Skybox verwendet. Eine "Skybox" dient zur Erzeugung von Stimmungen - verschiedene Tag- und Nachtsituationen werden mit ihrer Hilfe dargestellt. Dabei werden von einer in der virtuellen Welt zentral gelegenen Position 6 Bilder erzeugt. Diese Bilder werden auf einen Würfel gezeichnet und bewegen sich mit dem Benutzer durch die virtuelle Welt. Damit wird der Eindruck erzeugt, dass sich der Benutzer in einer Landschaft befindet.

Personen

Projektleitung

Programmierung

  • Christoph Anthes - Konzept, Datenstrukturen
  • Helmut Bressler - Engine, Physik, Netzwerkprogrammierung, Reflexionen und Schatten
  • Helmut Garstenauer - Avatare
  • Martin Garstenauer - Avatare
  • Franz Keferböck - Schwarmalgorithmen
  • Roland Landershamer - Engine, Physik, Netzwerkprogrammierung und -konzept
  • Stephan Reiter - Partikel
  • Christian Wressnegger - Partikel
  • Johannes Zarl - Schwarmalgorithmen

Modellierung

  • Wolfgang Hauer - Umgebungen
  • Marlene Hochrieser - Avatare 3DStudio Plugin
  • Clemens Mock - Umgebungen
  • Paul Pammesberger - Umgebungen
  • Ivan Petrov - Avatare
  • Georg-Friedrich Sochurek - Avatare
  • Silke Wiesinger - Strassenabschnitte, Umgebungen
  • Alexander Wilhelm - Avatare, Strassenabschnitte, Umgebungen
  • Wolfgang Wögerer - Umgebungen

Bilder

Videos

Presse

Publikationen

Helmut Bressler, Roland Landertshamer, Christoph Anthes, Jens Volkert
An efficient Physics Engine for Virtual Worlds
In Proc. of medi@terra, pages 152-158, Athens, Greece, October 2006

Christoph Anthes, Alexander Wilhelm, Roland Landertshamer, Helmut Bressler, Jens Volkert
Net'O'Drom - An Example for the Development of Networked Immersive VR Applications
In Proc. of International Conference on Computational Science (ICCS), pages 752-759, Beijing, China, May 2007

Studentenprojekte

Seit einiger Zeit bietet das GUP die Vorlesung Virtual Reality im CAVE an. Ziel der Lehrveranstaltung ist es dem interessierten Hörer die Technologie der Virtual Reality näher zu bringen. Dabei werden Themen wie OpenSG- und Performer-Programmierung, der Umgang mit EON Studio oder 3D Modellierung behandelt. Am Ende der Vorlesung soll es den Studenten möglich sein, eigenständig VR-Applikationen für den CAVE, Curved Screen, ICatcher oder das ReachIn Display zu entwickeln. Hier finden sich Informationen zu den bisher entstandenen Abschlußprojekten.

Industrieprojekte

  • Industrieprojekte
  • SAVE

Die Johannes Kepler Universität Linz ist immer um die Kooperation mit Firmen bemüht. Ein Hauptaugenmerk liegt hierbei an der Schnittstelle zwischen Studenten und Forschungsprojekten aus der Wirtschaft. Dabei bietet das VR-Center eine der besten Hardware Ausstattungen Europas. Wenn Ihre Firma an Forschungsprojekten in den Bereichen Computergraphik, Visualisierung oder Human Interface Technology interessiert ist oder Projektideen einbringen möchte, dann kontaktieren Sie uns über vrcadmin@jku.at